#LooksLikeAnEngineer Project

Isis Anchalee

“Engineer Isis Anchalee kicked off the #ilooklikeanengineer hashtag on Twitter.” Content & Picture Source: LA Times

You may have recently come across the #LooksLikeAnEngineer story about engineer, Isis Anchalee, who took part in a recruitment campaign for her tech employer.  She was “blown away” by the attention the image got.  But among the positive comments were negative ones, focusing on her appearance and whether she ‘looked’ like an engineer.  And thus a spontaneous movement was born!  Check out the site where female engineers around the world are showing their solidarity.
Being that our organization is involved inspiring future engineers on a daily basis, we wanted to do our part for this awesome #LooksLikeAnEngineer Project.  Here are some of our staff members that have contributed to the project so far:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yay for working on giant robots that will someday be the RVs on the moon and Mars, bringing the astronauts habitats with them while they explore the surface. And doing it in a skirt! Now I get to inspire the next generation of rocket scientists to play and create the next amazing idea! -Kendra Kilbride, ex-Rocket Scientist.

#LooksLikeAnEngineer-Gabs

My name is Gabs Dupont and I’m an Play-Well instructor in Chicago. I am also currently a student at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign majoring in Bioengineering and minoring in chemistry.

IMG_5467

My name is Victoria Mouwen and I’m currently an Area Manager for Play-Well TEKnologies. I received my BA in Liberal Studies with an emphasis in Science from California State University Northridge. In my current position I teach children basic engineering concepts like: pneumatics, levers, transmissions and much more.

My name is Lynda Weiss and I’m currently an Area Manager for Play-Well TEKnologies. I received my M.S in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Davis. In my current position I am responsible for programs that teach children basic engineering concepts using FUN Lego projects!

My name is Lynda Weiss and I’m currently an Area Manager for Play-Well TEKnologies. I received my M.S in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Davis. In my current position I am responsible for programs that teach children basic engineering concepts using FUN Lego projects!

Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 6.50.48 PM

Kathy, our Atlanta Manager, added her contribution to the #LooksLikeAnEngineer Project.

We are asking our Play-Well families if they’d like to also contribute to this project.  Here is how you can contribute:
#1. Take a picture of yourself or someone that is passionate about the world of engineering.
  • It could even be a child that is interested in engineering.

#2. If you have your own twitter page, post it with and add the hashtag: #LooksLikeAnEngineer.  Tag us at #playwell, if you’d like.

or

Email us your photo at jeff@play-well.org and we will compile them all together.

Our goal with this project and everything else we do for Play-Well is to let every child that participates in our engineering program know that they could one day be the next great engineer, scientist, or inventor that helps change the world.  We hope this #LooksLikeAnEngineer projects help to contribute to that goal.

Leave a Reply

